1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

My daughter's freshwater shrimp tank

Discussion in 'Aquarium & Aquascaping General Discussion' started by djshabb, Feb 27, 2015.

1. djshabb

djshabb New Member

Address:
    I'm fairly new to the planted tank hobby but here is my attempt at a fresh water shrimp tank

25019eb9a84d63372702426b85d3301a.

7ab26eba522f54c916dceb0ae4de0beb.

92720212849854c97d1f91e95600ff15.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Attached Files:

2. Keith

Keith Administrator
    Staff Member Administrator

Address:
    Australia
    djshabb

Your tank is very confusing for many reasons.

As its a Shrimp planted tank the plants there are not in a very good condition.

Second photo it looks like one of the Sword varieties other than having damaged leaves they can grow into huge plants.

Third photo it looks like a very unhappy Java Fern is it in the substrate or attached to a piece of Drift Wood?

Are you feeding the plants if so what with, quantities and how often.

It looks like some thing/s are ripping it apart.

I also notice there are fish in with the shrimp, this link will help you in selecting compatible fish.

What fish and numbers are in the tank?

The Best Types Of Fish For Your Shrimp Aquarium

Is there any reason what the tank level is so low?

Filtration and heater its very unusual for a beginner to remove the Filtration and heater for a photo, what are you using?

The surface of the substrate certainly requires a very good cleaning.

I fully realise its a girls tank but why the pink ornament some can break down and cause a lot of problems.

As a test I would like you to take a good water sample to your LFS and get a full water test done ask for a full report not its OK and post the results please.

Sorry if this is not the reply you were looking for, I could have said very little but that would not help you or your tank at all.